Our Board

Our Board is responsible for governance and the stewardship of the Group and meets regularly throughout the year to fulfil its responsibilities. The Board is chaired by Jamie Pike. In addition to the Non-Executive Chair and two Executive Directors, the Board also comprises seven Independent Non-Executive Directors, who provide independent challenge and review. 

Our Board is diverse ethnically, culturally and in gender and this diversity of perspective and experience enables the Board to consider and act upon the needs of all our stakeholders. 

At the end of 2023 the Board met the 40% female representation target set by the FTSE Women Leaders review (formerly Hampton-Alexander) and with two members of the Board coming from a minority ethnic background we also exceeded the Parker Review target of at least one individual.

Jamie Pike - Chair - MBA, MA, MIMechE


Nomination (Chair)

Appointed to the Board

May 2014. Appointed Chair in May 2018.

Jamie Pike will retire from the Board on 31 December 2024, having served as a Non-Executive Director since 2014 and as Chair since 2018. Tim Cobbold will join the Board as a Non-Executive Director and Chair Designate with effect from 1 September 2024 and will take over as Chair of the Board and Nomination Committee on 1 January 2025. Read more.

Areas of experience

Senior management, engineering, international business, M&A, strategy

External appointments

Non-Executive Director and designate Chair of XP Power Limited


Jamie Pike joined Burmah Castrol in 1991 and was Chief Executive of Burmah Castrol Chemicals before leading the Foseco buy-out in 2001 and its subsequent flotation in 2005. Prior to joining Burmah, he was a partner at Bain & Company. Jamie was educated at Oxford, holds an MBA from INSEAD and is a Member of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Jamie is a Non-Executive Director and designate Chair of XP Power Limited.